Prime Minister Modi Reshuffles His Cabinet As 43 Leaders Take Oath

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is reshuffling his cabinet in his second term. The decision of revamping the cabinet came into consideration after Prime Minister Modi's administration was heavily criticized by the opposition parties for not handling the second wave of the covid-19 pandemic particularly. Many ministers gave their resignation ahead of the cabinet reshuffling process, including former Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, Law and Information Technology Minister, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Environment, Information & Broadcasting and Heavy Industries Minister, Prakash Javedkar resigned, which came as an unexpected move by the Modi government. As many as 43 new leaders will take oath as ministers this evening. The big four ministries, including Finance, Foreign Affairs, Home Affairs and Defence, is not likely to change. As per government sources, the Modi government is looking to enhance the cabinet capacity and aims to include more young members of the party to be ministers. There have been talks that a greater representation will be given to Other Backward classes and women in the newly formed cabinet. Political leaders including Pankaj Chaudhary, Anurag Thakur, G Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala, Bhupender Yadav, Sarvabananda Sonowal, Narayan Tatu Rane and Dr Virendra Kumar took oath as ministers who are all set for cabinet 2.0. Before the cabinet revamping decision was, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Bhartiya Janata Party held a review exercise and did a series of meetings with the ministers. After assuming charge in 2019, this is the first time that Modi's cabinet is getting reshuffled. The ongoing ceremony is currently being carried out at the Rashtrapati Bhavan with a small number of gathering due to the coronavirus risk. The Modi government has also added a new ministry - the Ministry of Cooperation which is expected to provide a separate legal, administrative and policy framework to strengthen the cooperative movement in the country. Not many details have been revealed about the contours of the new ministry, but it is expected to streamline the process for ease of doing business for cooperatives and help in the development of multi-state cooperatives. The new ministry will work on the vision of 'Sahkar se Samriddhi' (Prosperity through cooperatives). Here are the political leaders that will take oath as ministers today and take charge of their own departments:

  • Narayan Rane
  • Sarbananda Sonowal
  • Dr Virendra Kumar
  • Jyotiraditya M Scindia
  • Ramchandra Prasad Singh
  • Ashwini Vaishnaw
  • Pashupati Paras
  • Kiren Rijiju
  • Raj Kumar Singh
  • Hardeep Singh Puri
  • Mansukh Mandaviya
  • Bhupender Yadav
  • Parshottam Rupala
  • G. Kishan Reddy
  • Anurag Singh Thakur
  • Pankaj Choudhary
  • Anupriya Singh Patel
  • Dr Satya Pal Singh Baghel
  • Rajeev Chandrasekhar
  • Shobha Karandlaje
  • Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma
  • Darshana Vikram Jardosh
  • Meenakshi Lekhi
  • Annapurna Devi
  • A. Narayanaswamy
  • Kaushal Kishore
  • Ajay Bhatt
  • B. L. Verma
  • Ajay Kumar
  • Chauhan Devusinh
  • Bhagwanth Khuba
  • Kapil Moreshwar Patil
  • Pratima Bhoumik
  • Dr Subhas Sarkar
  • Dr Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad
  • Dr Rajkumar Ranjan Singh
  • Dr Bharati Pravin Pawar
  • Bishweswar Tudu
  • Shantanu Thakur
  • Dr Munjapara Mahendrabhai
  • John Barla
  • Dr L. Murugan
  • Nisith Pramanik

You can share this post!