Latest News
28 May, 2023
30 ° C
Pushkar Singh Dhami

Pushkar Singh Dhami

Pushkar Singh Dhami is an Indian politician who belongs to the Bhartiya Janata Party. He is
currently serving as the 11th Chief Minister of the Uttarakhand state. He is a member of the
Uttarakhand state assembly. His constituency is Khatima which lies in the Udham Singh
Nagar district.

Pushkar Singh’s Personal Life 

Pushkar Singh Dhami was born on September 16, 1975, in the Tundi village of the
Pithoragarh district of Uttarakhand. His ancestral village is also in Pithoragarh and is named
Harkhola. His family migrated to the Tundi village from his ancestral town, where he pursued
his study till the 5th standard. After this, Dhami’s family shifted to Nagla Tarai Bhabar,
Khatima. His family had to move regularly because his father was in the army who retired as
a Subedar.

Pushkar Dhami completed his graduation degree in Human Resource Management and
Industrial Relations from the Lucknow University. After completing his graduation, he
pursued L.L.B. from the same university. He has also served as a personal adviser and officer
on special duty to present Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari during the latter’s
CM term in the Uttarakhand assembly in 2001.

Pushkar Singh Dhami’s Political Career

The political career of Pushkar Singh Dhami began in the year 1990 when he joined the Akhil
Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). ABVP is the student wing of the Rashtriya
Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Dhami was also the state president of the Bhartiya Janata Yuva
Morcha till 2008. During that tenure, he gained popularity for asserting the state government
to reserve seventy per cent job opportunities for the local youth.

Term As The Chief Minister Of Uttarakhand

On July 4, 2021, Pushkar Singh Dhami took charge as the 10th Chief Minister of
Uttarakhand. He succeeded Tirath Singh Rawat, who resigned from his post due to some
unknown issues. Following his charge as the CM, he became the youngest Chief Minister of
Uttarakhand at the age of 45. Before becoming the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, he served
as the M.L.A. for two consecutive terms from the Khatima constituency of Udham Singh
Nagar district.


Information Source:

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x