Latest News
29 May, 2023
39 ° C

Yogi Adityanath

DOB: 5th June 1972
Yogi Adityanath was born on June 5, 1972, in Panchur village, Pauri Garhwal in erstwhile Uttar Pradesh. The place now belongs to the Uttarakhand state. His birth name was Ajay Mohan Bisht. Anand Singh Bisht, his late father, was an employee in the UP forest department. Yogi Adityanath earned a bachelor's degree in Mathematics from Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University (Uttarakhand).

  • Birth Name: Ajay Kumar Bisht
  • Other Name: Mahant Yogi Adityanath
  • DOB: 5th June 1972
  • Birth Place: Village-Panchur, Pauri Garhwal, Uttarakhand
  • Parents: Anand Singh Bisht (Father), Savitri Devi (Mother)
  • Academics: Sc. (Mathematics)
  • Alma Mater: N.B. Garhwal University
  • Profession: Politician
  • Political Seat: Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
  • Political Party: BJP (Bhartiya Janata Party)
  • Assembly Constituency: Gorakhpur (UP)

Early Life

In a family of four brothers and three sisters, Yogi Adityanath was the second child. He had his primary education in Pauri and Rishikesh's local schools.  

Spiritual Upliftment

During 1990s, Yogi Adityanath left his home to join the Ayodhya Ram Temple movement. He was then only 21 years old. Around the same period, he became a disciple of Mahant Avaidyanath, the head priest of the Gorakhnath Math in Gorakhpur. He was conferred with the title 'Yogi Adityanath' and appointed as  Mahant Avaidyanath's successor. After his induction as the Peethadhishwar (Head Seer) of the Math, Adityanath stayed in Gorakhpur and visited his ancestral village frequently. He also built a school there in 1998.  

Yogi Adityanath’s Entry Into The Political Field

Yogi Adityanath was a part of the Ayodhya movement in 1949 that dates back to Mahant Digvijay Nath, who spearheaded the movement. Both Digvijay Nath and his successor, Mahant Avaidyanath, were Hindu Mahasabha members who set foot in Parliament on the Hindu Mahasabha's ticket. The two filaments merged once the BJP and the Sangh Parivar joined hands on the Ayodhya issue in the 1980s. In 1991, Avaidyanath joined the BJP. However, he retained his greater autonomy. In 1994, Yogi Adityanath was named the Mahant of Gorakhnath Math after the demise of Mahant Avaidyanath. He was subsequently elected to the Lower House of the Indian Parliament (Lok Sabha) four years later.  

Tenure in Parliament

At the age of 26, Adityanath was the youngest member of the 12th Lok Sabha. He has since been elected as the MP from Gorakhpur for five consecutive terms (1998, 1999, 2004, 2009, and 2014 General Elections)  

Chief Ministerial Term

In the 2017 Assembly Elections in Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath was a key campaigner for the BJP. On March 18, 2017, the state administration named him the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. Subsequently, he was sworn in the next day in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other prominent BJP Central leaders.  

Other Achievements

  • Chief Editor of ‘Hindi Weekly’ and monthly journal ‘Yogvani’.
  • He has also developed Hostel amenities for weaker section of the society.
  • He has established education and health institutions for the oppressed.
He has organised spiritual and cultural camps for devotees and followers.  

Information Source:,,
Read more

Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), national president Jagat Prakash Nadda visited Uttar Pradesh today ahead of the upcoming

It's quite common that political leaders continue to make a crossover from one political party to another ahead of elections. However, the news of Apa...

The Covid pandemic has affected everyone across the world. It has also affected public opinion and the polls. Therefore, people are eager for the 2022...

On Tuesday, a high-level meet took place at the BJP headquarters in Delhi. As per sources, the proposal of Yogi Adityanath contesting from Ayodhya at ...

On Wednesday, the ruling Bhartiya Janata Party appointed a 24-member election committee for the Upcoming Uttar Prad...

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday laid the foundation stone of Major Dhyan Chand Sports University at Uttar Pradesh’s Meerut district. As per ...