Latest News
31 Mar, 2023
31 ° C

2022 Men’s Cricket World Cup

2022 is an amazing year for World Cups, including the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Thankfully, we can all benefit from the Cups enjoying every game and through esports betting that will be no shortage. However, there’s more to the Cricket World Cup than what meets the eye. 

Today, we take a look at the 2022 Men’s Cricket World and look into a few players you need to be looking out for. 

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The 2022 ICC Men’s World Cup is a tournament that has had 18 editions. The Cup is said to be starting on 16 October 2022 and is meant to continue into November 2022. The Cup will have 45 matches played, 16 participants, and held in Australia. 

It’s important to know that the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was meant to happen in 2020; however, it needed to be postponed due to the pandemic. The announcement of the Cup being postponed came in July 2020; however, it wasn’t until August 2020 that the ICC confirmed that the Cup would occur in Australia.

Teams Participating in the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Below we take a look at the different teams that will be taking part in the Cricket World Cup. It’s important to note that some countries qualify for the Super 12 phase of this tournament based on previous performance in the 2021 tournament. Their rankings as of 15 November 2021 have also been taken into account. 

Teams that directly qualified for the ICC Cricket World Cup Super 12 phase include:

  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • India
  • England
  • Bangladesh
  • Australia
  • Afghanistan

Below we have a list of teams that have been placed within the group stage. These cricket teams include:

  • Namibia
  • Scotland
  • West Indies
  • Sri Lanka

It’s important to know that the group B qualifiers have not been chosen. However, this will be happening from 11 July to 17 July 2022. 

Stadiums To Hold 2022 Men’s Cricket World Cup

Below we take a look at the different cricket grounds and stadiums the matches will be held. It’s important to note that we will also be looking at the capacity of the different stadiums and cricket grounds.

  • Sydney: Sydney Cricket Grounds (Capacity 48 601)
  • Melbourne: Melbourne Cricket Grounds (Capacity 100 024)
  • Perth: Perth Stadium (Capacity 61 266)
  • Geelong: Kardinal Park (Capacity 40 000)
  • Adelaide: Adelaide Oval (Capacity 55 317)
  • Hobart: Bellerive Oval (Capacity 20 000)
  • Brisbane: The Gabba (Capacity 42 000)

Players to Look Out For

Although there are many amazing cricket players within the industry, we’ve chosen a few that truly stand out. In this section, we take a look at the different cricket players you and the teams playing should be looking at. 

First, we’d like to take a look at Marnus Labuschagne. Labuschagne is best known for his ability to remain at the crease for long periods; however, those aren’t his only strong points. 

Labuschagne is a batter, and at the tender age of 27, he’s already made a name for himself. Labuschagne had already made history when he became the first-ever concussion substitute, among many others. He is currently said to be the world’s best batter. 

Second, we take a look at Jasprit Bumrah, who plays the role of a bowler. It’s important to note that Bumrah was mentioned in the Wisden Amlanack 2022 edition as part of the top five cricketers of the year. He is also ranked as the third-best Indian bowler in the ICC Test Bowling Ranking and also holds the sixth ranking in the ODI rankings.

Third, we’d take a look at Babar Azam, who is a batter and made an amazing impression in 20221. Azam is the reigning ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year and has broken many records and is still yet to break many. Azam has also recently become the fastest player after reaching a staggering 2 500 T20I runs.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x